Lena Dunham

Posted on April 19, 2012

0


It’s great when art, culture and cinema mix. But when that glob evolves into really good television, it’s my idea of a perfect form of entertainment. It happens rarely for me. I don’t really watch television since we don’t pay for cable channels and we no longer pick up rabbit ear signals in Brooklyn since 9-11 and the transition to digital. So I do what lots of non-television people who love good television do – watch it on DVD when it’s released. Or see it on Netflix. Or if I am lucky enough – see it as a free preview on the network’s website. Which is what I did with Lena Dunham’s new series Girls. I was on the HBO site streaming instantly as soon as I heard. Ms. Dunham has been making the media rounds as well. She’s was on a couple of NPR shows, there’s a lengthy New York Magazine article, there is a New Yorker thing, and tons more. It’s all very high art establishment media attention, but to have Ms. Dunham’s clear voice telling us what we have been dying to hear (at least some of us) about who we are at this moment in time is a relief. Everyone wants to talk about her New York art world childhood and her age. I’m waiting for that chatter to fade into the background because I am convinced that Ms. Dunham is making relevant art that speaks to us – for television! And that is perfect.

HBO

Jojo Whilden/HBO

Posted in: Art, Culture, Film