Should I or Shouldn’t I?

Posted on October 22, 2012

0


I am still not certain if I do or I don’t. I saw Monica Bill Barnes & Company’s big evening length show at the NYU Skirball Center for the Arts over the weekend. Barnes’ enthusiastic movement is modern dance meets vaudeville with Carol Burnett, Tina Turner, James Brown and glittery hints of Garland. So why do I feel so conflicted when I see pure pop art performance that is this capable? But I do love watching this group of women dance…and can they ever! Run, leap, point, lick, squat, strut and punch. While we’re at it, throw some boxes at me and watch me twirl a baton. Let’s put on a show!

Monica Bill Barnes and Anna Bass in Another Parade

Photo by Adrianne Mathiowetz, courtesy of MBB and CO.’s Kickstarter site.

Posted in: Art, Dance, Performance