Agnes

Posted on October 9, 2016

0


63-1653_ph_web
Agnes Martin, White Flower, 1960
Oil on canvas, 71 7/8 x 72 inches (182.6 x 182.9 cm)
Courtesy Solomon R. Guggenheim Museum
© 2016 Agnes Martin/Artists Rights Society (ARS), New York

installation-srgm-agnes-martin-014
Installation view at the Guggenheim.
Courtesy Solomon R. Guggenheim Museum, photo by David Heald

I will head out this week to see the huge installation of Agnes Martin’s work at the Guggenheim! I will be excited, humbled, emotional, inspired and exhausted after I leave. Martin is one of those artists for me—one who has given me much to contemplate about painting and life. I look forward to seeing her work in a soft edged diffused space like the Guggenheim. The best place I have seen her work so far is at the Agnes Martin Gallery in Taos, New Mexico. The gallery is part of the Harwood Museum of Art and was built for Martin’s pieces created in Taos in the 30’s. The room is spare, round, intimate and lit naturally from above. The quality and intensity of light changes all day. Color and textures shift and blur. It is a painting performance.

Here is a Google Image search link for Ages Martin. A launching pad.

Also a link to Martin’s work at Dia in Beacon, New York.

Posted in: Art